Review: MAC Cremesheen Lipstick in Hot Gossip

Ahhh, again, I am getting behind on posting! I do apologize.

I started a new job (and quit the other one I blogged about previously) over a week ago. I am now working in retail (oh, Lordy!) and even though it’s supposed to be a part-time job, my hours are looking an awful lot like full-time.

So between working and school, I’ve been fairly busy every day. When I get home, I’m so tired, and I just want to plop down in a chair and watch something from Netflix. I’m really into watching Bollywood movies lately – they are just so upbeat and carefree. Sometimes I just want some cheerful entertainment to lighten the mood.

Anyway! Let’s talk about one of my favorite things: lipstick.

Today I’ll be reviewing one of my favorite MAC lipsticks in Hot Gossip.

MAC Hot Gossip Cremesheen lipstick

Hot Gossip is part of the permanent line, and is described as a “mid-tone pinky plum”; it is sold in the Cremesheen formula for $15.00. Personally, having tried a few other finishes, Cremesheen is my favorite MAC lipstick finish. Not everyone likes the finish because they find it drying – I, on the other hand, find it quite the opposite. I find it to be quite moisturizing and my lips feel soft even long after the lipstick has worn off.

True to its name, the Cremesheen finish applies with a creamy feel and a slight “shine” without looking too glossy. I find I get a decent amount of wear from it, about two hours before it fades to a slight pink tint on my lips.

Hot Gossip is a medium pink with a slight purple tinge to it, it leans oh-so-slightly “cool” if you ask me – but it isn’t too cool that warm skin tones couldn’t pull it off. I have some yellow skin undertones and I love this color.

The color is a cream with no shimmer. It looks great with a variety of makeup looks. It’s a nice, soft pink that is noticeable without being too loud.

If you are not familiar with the classic MAC lipstick scent, oh, I adore it. It is a lovely vanilla scent that reminds me of vanilla ice cream, vanilla cupcakes, vanilla pudding – all things deliciously vanilla. Makeup companies, please take note. A lip product’s scent will make or break it for me sometimes. But I love vanilla scented products!

I only have a handful of MAC lipsticks because the price is a tad steep for me. I’m not one of those bloggers that has tons of MAC lippies (woe is me!). I also do not have a MAC counter anywhere near me, so I am left with online purchasing. So when I do decide to buy a MAC lipstick, I research shade reviews and swatches extensively before I decide to make the plunge and order some. I hope my review helps if you are thinking about buying this shade!

About Hannah

When I'm not busy with housewifery and mommy duties, you may find me reading, cooking, sewing, or possibly even painting. Oh, and, I like makeup - a lot.
This entry was posted in Beauty, Lip Products, Reviews, Swatches and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

