Hawaiian Punch

Hawaiian-Punch-Gallon-BottlesTonight, my husband and I were grocery shopping, originally for just a few things like milk, bread, and fruit. Well, you know how it is, one thing leads to another… and suddenly, you’re doing some legitimate shopping. It’s never just “one or two things”, you know?

I remembered we needed some juice – as we were hovering around the juice aisle, Mark comments, “look at all these flavors. Your dad would have loved this.” I looked down, and saw what he was talking about. He was referring to the large jugs of Hawaiian Punch juice. My dad loved them, especially the orange flavor.

Suddenly, it was like a knife in my heart. Tears came to my eyes as I remembered.

I felt terrible because I forgot how much he loved those juices, and how many times we picked some up for him at the store before he passed away.

My dad passed away from cancer last year, in February.

Mark felt bad because I was suddenly so sad… he felt like he upset me and caused me pain. But no, it’s a good thing for me to remember these things. I never want to forget.

I miss him so much.

About Hannah

When I'm not busy with housewifery and mommy duties, you may find me reading, cooking, sewing, or possibly even painting. Oh, and, I like makeup - a lot.
This entry was posted in Lessons in Love, Thoughts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Hawaiian Punch

  1. wvmark41 says:

    It was sad for me too: remembering your dad, remembering how we’d happily get things for him at the store, remembering the smile on his face when we’d bring several gallons of Hawaiian Punch to him, and realizing that I brought up something that made you cry. I’ll never stop missing the father-in-law I barely got to know.

    • Hannah says:

      Thank you for being there for me during all of this. I know it is difficult and you’ve been so loving and understanding. I just hate it. It’s not fair. He was such an amazing person and he was too young to die. He liked you though, he approved of you and he knew you took good care of me. I just wish you’d had more time to get to know each other. I wish so many things.

  2. Jenni says:

    My dad passed away from cancer in July last year :/
    I don’t think a day goes by without me thinking of him. I’m pretty sure I’ve gone through all the possible emotions regarding his passing and though I managed to start surviving my everyday life pretty much instantly (I’ve always been very cool, calm and collected), in private, I don’t know if I’ll ever feel “okay” regarding this. Perhaps you never will. Perhaps it’s normal. I too often find myself thinking “what would my dad say about this?” “would my dad like this?” “oh, dad would’ve loved this…” and so on. I miss him sooooo much.

    • Hannah says:

      I am so sorry to hear about your loss. It’s so hard to lose a parent, especially when they are still relatively young. I don’t know if we’ll ever feel “okay”. It will lessen over time, but I think the pain will always be there in some way. I’m glad he’s not suffering anymore, but I miss him. I wish so much things had been different. I think of him all the time. 😦

      • Jenni says:

        My dad was 74, so he wasn’t exactly “young”, but he was always extremely youthful and otherwise healthy. It wasn’t until his last year that he became very weak, ill and dependent on others for help – which was killing his spirit. He had always been the caretaker and now he was the one being cared for.

        His cancer actually came back several times and it was very hard to accept just how ill he was the last time (and he wasn’t showing it or telling us everything because he didn’t want us to worry) it reappeared. On his last day he was having some trouble breathing so they took some chest x-rays and what not and he literally asked the doctor, patting his chest “You can fix this, right?” :/ Optimist to the end…

Leave a Reply

